Skip to content

Ovid’s Metamorphoses

April 29, 2015

metamorphoses1

I’ve finished my latest project and I’m having a few days break from that.

Last weekend, I went to a conference at Leeds University run by ‘Reading the Fantastic,’

who run events and discussion groups in the areas of fantasy, mythology folklore, magic realism,

fairytales and similar. The conference inspired me to get back into narrative Illustration. For a while I have

wanted to create a series inspired by ‘Metamorphoses,’ written by the Roman poet Ovid, which encompasses myth,

and epic legend. I’ve started sketching out ideas………….so the image above is of creation. I thought perhaps the deity could have multiple arms, which are perhaps spinning yarn, or arranging strands of wool.

I’ll upload the finished image later.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Jonathan Ainscough permalink

    I love Metamorphoses! Will look forward to seeing how this develops 🙂

    • Yes, it’s incredible. I’ll make at least 3 finished images and see
      where it goes from there. It could morph into another project. Plus,
      I have to prioritise/find paid stuff, whatever that might be….so these personal
      projects take longer than expected..

Leave a Reply

