Skip to content

Oreads and exhibitions.

April 21, 2016

femalewondersketchbook

This is a page from my sketchbook diary, which I’ve been keeping since the beginning of this year. It’s a great way to come up with new ideas and also draw and write for enjoyment, which brings out words and images which can feel unexpected sometimes.

Currently, I’m finishing a painting of an Oread- which is a type of nymph from Greek mythology, which lives in mountains, valleys and ravines.

It’s for a group art show in London this year. I was struggling with how to respond to the theme of female wonder, so I looked back in my sketchbook, and decided this sketch could really work as a finished painting- and would fit well with the exhibition. The ideas I had were related to the body as landscape- and the idea of the Oread- a supernatural being, within the landscape- seemed to sum up my ideas in a pithy way. Not long ago, I was working on a project related to medical history and anatomical diagrams. This sketch, and the almost finished painting relate to that, but are magical rather than medical.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

